Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The SJND Miller Library's mission is to provide you with diverse resources to meet your information needs and curiosities; empower you to take initiative in furthering the depth and breadth of your education; teach you how to locate, access, evaluate, use, and properly cite information sources; and help you become a compassionate, discerning, and self-directed lifelong learner.
Online Resources & Tools
Ancient History Encyclopedia
Shares "an array of historical topics and narratives through text, video, interactive features, social media and mobile apps"
"Our goal is to highlight the very latest archaeological findings, peer-reviewed academic research and evidence, as well as offering alternative viewpoints and explanations of science, archaeology, mythology, religion and history around the globe."
Online resources for the following topics: Ancient history, British history, World Wars, historic figures, genealogy, and more
Best of History Websites
"Links to over 1200 history-related web sites that have been reviewed for quality, accuracy, and usefulness"
British Library: Online resources
"Unique collection items and expert commentary related to History, English and Citizenship."
Directory of Open Access Journals
"DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals."
"HistoryWorld’s aim is to make world history more easily accessible through interactive narratives and timelines.
The Holocaust History Project
"The Holocaust History Project is a free archive of documents, photographs, recordings, videos and essays regarding the Holocaust, including direct refutation of Holocaust-denial."
Human Rights Watch
"Human Rights Watch is known for its accurate fact-finding, impartial reporting, effective use of media, and targeted advocacy, often in partnership with local human rights groups.
JSTOR Open Content
"Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters."
The Labyrinth (Georgetown University)
"The Labyrinth provides free, organized access to resources in medieval studies. The Labyrinth’s easy-to-use links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world."
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Offers biographical information on medieval, renaissance, 17th century, and restoration writers
The National World War II Museum
"Beyond the galleries, the Museum's online collections, virtual field trips, webinars, educational travel programs, and renowned International Conference on World War II offer patrons new ways to connect to history [. . .]"
"Explore iconic locations in 3D, discover the tools of digital preservation, and download CyArk’s collection"
ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World
Digital Humanities Project. "Reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity"
The Public Domain Review
"an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas" in the public domain
Smithsonian Collections Search Center
"Search over 14.0 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 3.0 million online images, audio & videos and blog posts."
"StoryCorps’ mission is to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world."
"SweetSearch leverages Google to search only a fully vetted "whitelist" of websites. The original index was created by 50+ librarians, educators and researchers who collectively invested over 100,000 hours in finding the best resources."
World History Matters
"World History Matters is a portal to world history websites developed by the Center for History and New Media."
To Versailles, To Versailles!, 1789
British Library on Flickr
Includes over one million photos from the Library's collections with links to works in public domain
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History (BYU)
"Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations"
German History in Documents and Images
"a comprehensive collection of primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present"
Google Arts & Culture
"Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces. Search Collections and Museum View Only to 'walk through' the virtual space."
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
"A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use."
Library of Congress
"The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office."
New York Public Library Digital Collections
"A living database. Explore 746,647+ items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections."
World Digital Library
"The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO),
World History Sources
"A website to help world history teachers and students locate, analyze, and learn from online primary sources and to further their understanding of the complex nature of world history, especially the issues of cultural contact and globalization"
Smithsonian Institution on Flickr
"The photos you see here are a sample of the more than 13 million images in some seven hundred collections in our museums, archives, and research centers."
Databases and Topics
Reader - alam21437 - whic