LibGuides: Theology: Christian Morality

Online Resources & Tools

Information Literacy
by Mallory Cornett Last Updated Jul 26, 2022 657 views this year

Statistics & Data
by Mallory Cornett Last Updated Mar 22, 2021 3 views this year

News Sources
by Mallory Cornett Last Updated Sep 12, 2019 3 views this year

Bible Gateway
"Searchable online Bible in more than 200 versions and 70 languages that you can freely read, research, and reference anywhere"
Bioethics Information Resources
From the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine
Bioethics Research Library (Georgetown University)
"The Library is home to the world’s largest and most diverse collection of materials on the ethics of health, the environment, and emerging technologies."
Catechism of the Catholic Church
Searchable online version
Diocese of Oakland
Take a look at the resources from the "Ministries - Formation" tab.
Graduate Theological Union Library
The National Catholic Bioethics Center (NCBC)
"The National Catholic Bioethics Center, established in 1972, conducts research, consultation, publishing and education to promote human dignity in health care and the life sciences, and derives its message directly from the teachings of the Catholic Church."
SweetSearch
"SweetSearch leverages Google to search only a fully vetted "whitelist" of websites. The original index was created by 50+ librarians, educators and researchers who collectively invested over 100,000 hours in finding the best resources."
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops
Take a look specifically at the following tabs: "Beliefs and Teachings" and "Issues and Action".
World Health Organization (WHO) - Global health ethics
"Working with 194 Member States, across six regions, and from more than 150 offices, WHO staff are united in a shared commitment to achieve better health for everyone, everywhere."
Internet Sacred Text Archive
"Electronic texts of over 1700 of the most important books ever written, including all the core texts of religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric."

Primary Sources

Tip:

Consult the database Student Resources in Context for more primary sources.

Catholic Research Resources Alliance (CRRA)
"The Catholic Research Resources Portal, or 'Catholic Portal,' provides global, freely available access to rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives.
more...less...
By electronically bringing together resources in many formats from many collections, the Portal enables easy, effective and global discovery of Catholic research resources."
Catholic News Archive (CRRA)
"Thousands of newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years [. . .] collection is fully text searchable [. . .] This collection contains 11,946 issues comprising 290,035 pages"
The Official Archive for the Vatican
Up-to-date resources from Vatican City

Databases & Topics

Abortion
Assisted Suicide
Capital Punishment
Homosexuality
Human Trafficking
Police Brutality
Pornography
Stem Cells
Torture
and more
Video Tutorials for Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Learn how to navigate the database and use tools for bookmarking, citation, downloading to Google Drive, and more.

Tip:

For background information and primary sources on an issue (topic names might not be the same from one database to another), browse topics in

Library Materials

Tip:

Refer to the periodicals America and Commonweal for commentary on current issues.

Library Catalog
Gale eBooks
Project Gutenberg
Offers over 57,000 free eBooks
Bartleby
"The preeminent Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge."

Encyclopedia of Catholic Social Thought, Social Science, and Social Policy by Michael L. Coulter (Editor); Stephen M. Krason (Editor); Richard S. Myers (Editor); Joseph A. Varacalli (Editor)
Call Number: REF 261.8088 COULTER
ISBN: 9780810859067
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBOOK 200
ISBN: 9780787640040
Publication Date: 2002-09-13